top of page
  • Writer's pictureAimee Brabant

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies






November 9, 2023



These Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies are the perfect thing to bake any day of the year but I especially love them during fall. They are soft and cake-like in the middle with chewy, slightly crisp edges, and that delicious apple flavor and abundance of cinnamon will leave everyone craving more. I’ve always loved oatmeal cookies and when you add apples and autumn spices they become the absolute perfect autumn cookie! Those tiny little bits of apples in these cookies just make them the perfect Fall/Winter cookies!



This recipe is written by Jacky at cookingclassy.com, and appears online at thepioneerwoman.com.



Course: Dessert

Cuisine: American

Servings: 19 cookies

Prep time : 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Total time : 40 minutes

Author: Jaclyn at cookingclassy.com



About Jaclyn

I’m Jaclyn, a thirty something wife and mother, as well as the self-taught cook, baker, writer, editor and photographer behind this little space on the web (so please forgive my grammatical errors). Cooking Classy is a place for me to share the food I love as I hope to expand my photography and writing skills. I love all things food. Let me rephrase that, I love all things good food. I’m picky about what I like and I’d like to say I know great food. My favorite foods include all things Italian or Mexican, anything with chocolate, caramel, fresh fruit or browned butter (is there a better scent in the world?). I don’t know how I’d live without the comfort food classics like pizza and enchiladas, all those indulgent dishes loaded with an abundance of gooey melted cheese. I’m a meat eater. Cookie dough is my weakness. The one food I think should be illegal is canned beets, they terrify me. Sugar is my addiction. I could live in the kitchen. I like to make food look pretty, because when it looks good doesn’t it just taste better? I hate cleaning, so those dirty dishes and I aren’t very good friends. I’d much rather make the food than clean up after it, anyone want to trade =)? Maybe someday, just someday, I will be organized and punctual. For now we’ll say I’m scaterized (opposite of organized) and functional :). I’ve never really cared for novels but I’ve always loved cookbooks and food magazines. They have pictures, novels don’t. I love art and traveling. My goal here is to publish recipes that you, your family and your friends will not only love but will want to make time and time again. I hope to inspire you as a home cook and boost your confidence in the kitchen.




About The Pioneer Woman Magazine

Ree Drummond shares her enthusiasm for the simple joys in life and inspires readers with her newest creation, The Pioneer Woman Magazine. Each issue is like a day with a good friend, full of helpful advice, great recipes, fun shopping and heartfelt stories - and lots of laughs.


This is a photo of Ree Drummond's kids.


Ree Drummond Greets the Season

In the letter from the editor, Ree Drummond writes about her family. She makes us feel as though we have met her, or are her close friend. She focuses on how excited she is to be hosting Thanksgiving and Christmas at her home this year, she writes:


"Hello, friends. I hope you're enjoying colder (or at least cooler!) weather in your neck of the woods. I've always preferred dressing for cold weather rather than hot (I think this is a fair-skinned redhead thing), so wardrobe-wise, this is definitely my time: I'm ready to throw on my sweaters, wraps and hoodies! A year ago, I wrote to you about our looming empty nest. Todd was getting ready to leave for college and my trepidation was extreme. Yet here Ladd and I are, with almost a year of empty-nesting under our belts, and we are still living and breathing (and eating!)-and looking forward to all the kids coming home for the holidays. Life is going to happen whether we are ready or not, and one thing I learn time and time again is that everything's going to be OK. I would like to declare that I am more excited than is normal to finally host both our Thanksgiving and Christmas meals this year, after a few years of hopping from place to place. Ladd and I finally finished our new house, and when I say I started laying out my plates and napkins a little early (is six weeks too early?), I am not exaggerating. I've already planned the menus and made the grocery lists, and I wouldn't be surprised if I set my turkey alarm a week or more before the big day. Have I mentioned I'm excited about hosting the holidays? The flip side of this is that my sister-in-law, Missy, is thrilled not to be hosting! She has enthusiastically offered to be on dish duty instead, and with that, it feels like all the pieces of my life have finally fallen into place. Do you have those family members who would much rather cook than clean? I'm one of those family members! I hope you enjoy this holiday issue, which is filled with so much magic, it's hard to know where to turn. My favorite story, on page 44, features nostalgic Christmas items through the decades. When I saw the pictures of decor I remember from my grandmother's house and toys I played with in the '80s, tears actually welled up in my eyes a couple of times! I have a hard time with nostalgia anyway (I can get lost in memories of old times), so those pages are a gift to my soul. I know you'll also love the food in this issue: You'll find holiday menus and Christmas cookies and pasta dishes from my new cookbook...I encourage you to try some (or all!) of these new recipes. They are tremendously tasty and all delightfully doable. Happy holidays, everyone! I hope your downtime is abundant, your family gatherings are special and your cooking is fun--and of course, delicious!" Ree Drummond



INGREDIENTS:




DIRECTIONS:


  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 18 by 13-inch baking sheets with silicone baking mats or parchment paper.


  • In a mixing bowl whisk together flour, oats, cinnamon, baking soda and salt for 20 seconds, set aside.



  • In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream together butter and brown sugar until combined.



  • Mix in egg and vanilla extract.



  • Scoop dough out using a medium cookie scoop, or 2 Tbsp at a time, and drop onto prepared baking sheets spacing cookies 2-inches apart. Flatten them just slightly.



  • Bake one sheet at a time in preheated oven until cookies are set, about 14 - 15 minutes. 





  • Let cool on baking sheet several minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container.



NOTES:


  • Use rolled old fashioned oats for best results.

  • Don't substitute quick oats.

  • Another tart crisp apple can be substituted for Granny Smith. Don’t use sweet apples though, there’s already enough sugar in the dough.

  • Cut the apples up very very small so not only will they bake through and become tender but that way you’ll also get apples flavor in each and every bite.

  • Don’t omit the lemon, it brightens up the apple flavor a bit more.

  • Use the scoop and sweep method to measure flour (not spoon and level), or better yet use a kitchen scale for the most consistent results.

  • Use a cookie scoop for the fastest method for scooping out dough, it will also give you even size cookies.

  • For the perfect pairing serve with warm apple cider.

  • Freezing: Once the cookies have cooled completely, store the cookies in a freezer bag. For extra reassurance that they don’t stick to each other, you can place a piece of parchment paper between each layer of cookies. When you’re ready to enjoy the cookies, place them on the counter for a few hours and allow them to come to room temperature. 



NUTRITION:


Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

Amount Per Serving

Calories 134Calories from Fat 45

% Daily Value*

Fat 5g8%

Saturated Fat 3g19%

Cholesterol 22mg7%

Sodium 71mg3%

Potassium 50mg1%

Carbohydrates 19g6%

Sugar 9g10%

Protein 1g2%

Vitamin A 165IU3%

Vitamin C 0.5mg1%

Calcium 15mg2%

Iron 0.7mg4%




How did you modify this recipe? Please share in the comments. Thank you for sharing!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page