top of page
  • Writer's pictureAimee Brabant

Apple Pecan Bread Pudding With Brown Sugar Glaze




November 11, 2023



This delicious and easy Apple Pecan Bread Pudding With Brown Sugar Glaze is the perfect dessert for the chilly months. This Apple Bread Pudding is a delicious treat that can be enjoyed all year long. Loaded with apples, raisins, and spices, this dessert casserole is warm and comforting. It’s warm, perfectly spiced and covered in a brown sugar vanilla glaze. You can top it off with a scoop of ice cream to make it even better!



WHAT IS BREAD PUDDING?


Bread pudding is dessert casserole made of cubed stale bread and custard.  It has stood the test of time because it’s so decadent, rich and fabulous – but so simple! To make, a sweetened custard made of half and half, sugar and eggs is combined with stale bread in a baking dish then baked until soft and creamy in the inside with delightfully crispy edges on top. Bread pudding is often served with caramel sauce, butterscotch sauce, vanilla, praline or bourbon sauce – but in this recipe, it’s all about the glorious caramel! Bread pudding is extremely versatile but most often contains raisins, nuts and spices such as cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.  It can also can contain other fruits such as apples, cranberries, oranges, and raspberries.  Moral of the story, pour custard over stale bread with whatever mix-ins your heart desires, and magic happens.



This recipe is written by Bianca at Lenoxbakery.com, and appears in The Pioneer Woman's website.



Course: Breakfast, Dessert, Snack

Cuisine: American

Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hour 20 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour 25 minutes

Servings: 12

Author: Bianca at Lenoxbakery.com





About Bianca

Bianca, Thank you so much for stopping by!Welcome to Lenox Bakery!

I started my baking blog in 2018 as a way to share my favorite baking recipes with the world. It truly brings me joy to be able to connect with so many people through baking. I am a professionally trained pastry chef that graduated from Stratford University. After I graduated, I worked in several restaurants and bakeries where I was able to gain even more experience. After a few years of working as an Assistant Pastry Chef and feeling like I needed a change, I hung up my pastry coat and turned to corporate America. I decided to go back to school to obtain a degree in Homeland Security. I know I know, baking and homeland security are extreme opposites but I love them and am deeply fascinated by them both.

In 2018, I decided I  needed a hobby and yearned to get back to baking. Baking has always been something that has bought me joy, been a huge stress reliever and where I could just let my creativity flow. At last, Lenox Bakery was born! I chose the name Lenox because it’s the name of the street I grew up on in Detroit. It’s where I learned how to bake from my grandmother and where I have the best memories as a kid. What started as a hobby has turned into something even bigger than I could’ve ever imagined. This blog is where I can connect with the world and bring you all easy, yet beautiful recipes designed for all home bakers.



About The Pioneer Woman Magazine

Ree Drummond shares her enthusiasm for the simple joys in life and inspires readers with her newest creation, The Pioneer Woman Magazine. Each issue is like a day with a good friend, full of helpful advice, great recipes, fun shopping and heartfelt stories - and lots of laughs.



Ree Drummond Greets the Season

In the letter from the editor, Ree Drummond writes about her family. She makes us feel as though we have met her, or are her close friend. She focuses on how excited she is to be hosting Thanksgiving and Christmas at her home this year, she writes:


"Hello, friends. I hope you're enjoying colder (or at least cooler!) weather in your neck of the woods. I've always preferred dressing for cold weather rather than hot (I think this is a fair-skinned redhead thing), so wardrobe-wise, this is definitely my time: I'm ready to throw on my sweaters, wraps and hoodies! A year ago, I wrote to you about our looming empty nest. Todd was getting ready to leave for college and my trepidation was extreme. Yet here Ladd and I are, with almost a year of empty-nesting under our belts, and we are still living and breathing (and eating!)-and looking forward to all the kids coming home for the holidays. Life is going to happen whether we are ready or not, and one thing I learn time and time again is that everything's going to be OK. I would like to declare that I am more excited than is normal to finally host both our Thanksgiving and Christmas meals this year, after a few years of hopping from place to place. Ladd and I finally finished our new house, and when I say I started laying out my plates and napkins a little early (is six weeks too early?), I am not exaggerating. I've already planned the menus and made the grocery lists, and I wouldn't be surprised if I set my turkey alarm a week or more before the big day. Have I mentioned I'm excited about hosting the holidays? The flip side of this is that my sister-in-law, Missy, is thrilled not to be hosting! She has enthusiastically offered to be on dish duty instead, and with that, it feels like all the pieces of my life have finally fallen into place. Do you have those family members who would much rather cook than clean? I'm one of those family members! I hope you enjoy this holiday issue, which is filled with so much magic, it's hard to know where to turn. My favorite story, on page 44, features nostalgic Christmas items through the decades. When I saw the pictures of decor I remember from my grandmother's house and toys I played with in the '80s, tears actually welled up in my eyes a couple of times! I have a hard time with nostalgia anyway (I can get lost in memories of old times), so those pages are a gift to my soul. I know you'll also love the food in this issue: You'll find holiday menus and Christmas cookies and pasta dishes from my new cookbook...I encourage you to try some (or all!) of these new recipes. They are tremendously tasty and all delightfully doable. Happy holidays, everyone! I hope your downtime is abundant, your family gatherings are special and your cooking is fun--and of course, delicious!" Ree Drummond


INGREDIENTS:


Apple Filling


  • 6-8 whole (1000 grams) Granny Smith apples

  • 3 tablespoons (42 grams) unsalted butter

  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) sugar

  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

  • 2 cups apple cider


Apple Pecan Bread Pudding


  • 8 cup French Bread, Brioche or Challah cut and cubed

  • 6 Eggs

  • 1/2 cup Dark Brown Sugar

  • 1/2 cup Sugar

  • 4 1/2 cup Milk

  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon

  • 1/2 teaspoon Nutmeg

  • 2 Granny Smith Apples Cored, peeled and cut

  • 1/2 cup Chopped Pecans

  • ½ cup raisins


Brown Sugar Glaze


  • 1/2 cup Dark Brown Sugar

  • 3 tablespoon Sugar

  • 1 tablespoon Flour

  • 2 teaspoon Cinnamon

  • 1 Egg whisked

  • 3 tablespoon Butter

  • 1 1/4 cup Milk

  • 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract

  • 2 cups apple cider



DIRECTIONS:


Brown Sugar Glaze



  • Place the brown sugar, sugar, flour, cinnamon, egg, butter, and milk together in a heavy bottomed pan.


  • Mix together over medium heat.


  • Whisk together for 10 minutes being sure to constantly whisk so the eggs wont curdle.


  • Once the sauce begins to thicken, remove from the stove and set aside.


Bread Pudding


  • 1 Preheat oven to 350 degrees.



  • Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan. Layer the cut bread pieces, diced apples and pecans evenly in the pan.


  • In a large bowl, mix milk, eggs, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg together.



  • Pour the milk mixture over the bread and apples. Cover with foil and let soak for 20 minutes.


  • Remove the foil and bake for 55-60 minutes or until center is set.




  • Once the bread pudding comes out of the oven, pour over the brown sugar sauce.


NOTES:


  • BEST TYPE OF BREAD FOR BREAD PUDDING: Bread pudding should be soft, creamy and custardy, but not soggy. To achieve this texture, technically you can use any somewhat stale, thick bread, but for the best flavor and texture, you have two choices: brioche and challah, although French bread can also work.  Of these options, I believe brioche makes the best bread pudding. 

  • CAN I FREEZE BREAD PUDDING?  You may freeze baked bread pudding but I don’t suggest freezing unbaked bread pudding because the eggs/cream will separate when thawing.  To freeze baked bread pudding, let it cool completely then wrap a few times in plastic wrap followed by a couple layers of foil.  Freeze for up to three months.  Thaw overnight in the refrigerator then reheat in the oven until warm throughout, about 10-20 minutes depending on the size of the leftovers. You can also freeze individual slices of bread pudding in freezer bags.



NUTRITION:


Serving Size:

cup (200g grams)

Bread Pudding

Amount Per Serving

Calories 377

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 7.3g grams 9% Daily Value

Saturated Fat 4g grams 20% Daily Value

Trans Fat 0.2g grams

Polyunsaturated Fat 0.6g grams

Monounsaturated Fat 2.1g grams

Cholesterol 74mg milligrams 25% Daily Value

Sodium 190mg milligrams 8% Daily Value

Total Carbohydrates 72g grams 26% Daily Value

Dietary Fiber 1.2g grams 4% Daily Value

Sugars 55g grams

Protein 7.7g grams

Vitamin D 1.4mcg micrograms 7% Daily Value

Calcium 158mg milligrams 12% Daily Value

Iron 1.3mg milligrams 7% Daily Value

Potassium 378.8mg milligrams 8% Daily Value

Caffeine 0mg




How did you modify this recipe? Please share in the comments. Thank you for sharing!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page