top of page
  • Writer's pictureAimee Brabant

Christmas 2023: Early Christmas Present







December 24, 2023




This Christmas I was surprised with a very special early present. I was casually invited to tea at my son's & daughter-in-law's house. While enjoying the great company & tea, they gave me my very first Nintendo Switch! I was truly touched that they thought of me, and I was excited to learn something new. I have never played video games, so I was immediately challenged to learn how to play.



Since the first day with my Nintendo Switch, I have tried not to be afraid to try playing with it. Honestly, I remember being afraid to break it. It is an expensive unit, but I decided to go for it and try my very best. I think that I was able to get past my fears because of the encouragement that I received from my son & daughter-in-law. They made it a point to play the games with me. Not only did they play with me, but they also went out of their way to buy me a special game that they knew that I would love: Animal Crossing-New Horizons!


Today, I am constantly playing Animal Crossing. This has become my favorite game. I started to play it right before we went up to the cabin for Christmas. I actually played it through the entire time that we were at the cabin. I feel that this game has helped me get over my apprehension in learning to play with my Nintendo Switch. I have been learning how to use the controllers, while also figuring out the strategy of Animal Crossing. Ultimately, the more important thing is that I am having so much fun playing it!







I wish to say a heartfelt THANK YOU to my son & daughter-in-law. Thank you for always thinking of me, for always including me, and (most importantly) for always loving me!!



Have a smashing time battling it out with Mario & friends or building your Animal Crossing World


  • This bundle has everything you need to have a smashing good time on Nintendo Switch™, including a Nintendo Switch – OLED Model system and two Joy-Con™ controllers featuring a design inspired by the Super Smash Bros.™ Ultimate game.

  • You can start multiplayer battles right out of the box—just pass a Joy-Con controller to a friend and play together on the same system. Or pick up more controllers (sold separately) and get up to 8 people playing on the same system.

  • Play at home or on the go with a vibrant OLED screen

  • Play on your TV at home or pick up and play in handheld mode on a vibrant 7-inch OLED screen with the Nintendo Switch – OLED Model system. The system also features 64 GB of internal storage (a portion of which is reserved for use by the system), enhanced audio in Handheld and Tabletop modes, a wide adjustable stand, and a dock with a wired LAN port (LAN cable sold separately).

  • The biggest Super Smash Bros. game ever!

  • Fight as gaming icons and try to knock your opponents off the stage in fun-filled battles where anything can happen! All past Super Smash Bros. fighters join the roster, along with a whole bunch of fresh additions. Pick from 74 fighters, including favorites like Mario, Princess Peach, Link, Princess Zelda, Pikachu, Duck Hunt, Pac-Man, and others from throughout gaming history.


Features & details

  • Enjoy a download code for the full Super Smash Bros. Ultimate game and a 3-month Nintendo Switch Online Individual Membership**.

  • 7” OLED touch screen

  • Three play modes: TV, Tabletop, and Handheld

  • Local co-op, local wireless, and online multiplayer

  • Detachable Joy-Con controllers


Nintendo Switch is home to Mario games and more family-friendly series

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate features a roster of 74 iconic fighters and more than 100 stages.

Product Details

  • Language: English

  • Item model number: HEGSKACLA

  • Batteries: 3 Lithium Ion batteries required. (included)







Animal Crossing New Horizons


Build your community from scratch on a deserted island brimming with possibility

• Create your personal getaway and customize your character, home, decorations, and even the landscape itself

• Collect materials to construct everything from furniture to tools! Then, use what you create to give your island a personal touch

• Watch as the time of day and seasons match real life-even your hemisphere!

Each day holds potential for surprises and discoveries

• Get to know the island residents, garden, fish, decorate, hunt for fossils, and more!

• Show off your paradise - play on the same system with a total of 4 people**, or play together online* or over local wireless** for fun with up to 8 players


Escape to a deserted island and create your own paradise as you explore, create, and customize in the Animal Crossing: New Horizons game. Your island getaway has a wealth of natural resources that can be used to craft everything from tools to creature comforts. You can hunt down insects at the crack of dawn, decorate your paradise throughout the day, or enjoy sunset on the beach while fishing in the ocean. The time of day and season match real life, so each day on your island is a chance to check in and find new surprises all year round.


Show off your island utopia to family and friends-or pack your bags and visit theirs.

Whether playing online* or with others beside you**, island living is even better when you can share it. Even without hopping on a flight, you'll meet a cast of charming animal residents bursting with personality. Friendly faces like Tom Nook and Isabelle will lend their services and happily help you grow your budding community. Escape to your island getaway-however, whenever, and wherever you want.


  • Polygon - "…..crafting systems in this game are lovely."

  • The Verge - "the video game equivalent of a relaxing getaway..."

  • IGN - "... full of surprises."

  • GameSpot - "the ability to alter your island to fit your grand plans is exciting.


  • © 2020 Nintendo. Animal Crossing and Nintendo Switch are trademarks of Nintendo.

  • *Nintendo Switch Online membership (sold separately) and Nintendo Account required for online features. Not available in all countries.

  • Internet access required for online features.

  • Terms apply. nintendo.com/switch-online

  • **Additional games, systems and/or accessories may be required for multiplayer mode. Games, systems and some accessories sold separately.


You will begin the game by traveling to a deserted island. You will start by living in a tent. You will meet your new neighbors. You can explore your new island.



I was excited to learn that I have a cell phone!


You will soon be selling your found treasures to this friendly charter:



Yes! I have learned how to increase the space in my pockets so that I can carry more of my found treasures!


Already, there are certain tools that I can't live without. One such tool is my Vaulting Stick, which helps me cross water. Some other great tools are my fishing rod, net, axe, & shovel.


The more you play, the more that you will become involved in your community. One of the ways that I have become involved with my community is to help this owl character build a museum.


I want to encourage you to try the Nintendo Switch. I believe that Animal Crossing New Horizons is an excellent game to enjoy while you familiarize yourself with this new gaming system! Most importantly, I encourage you to have fun playing with your family, friends, and new online players!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page