top of page
  • Writer's pictureAimee Brabant

Pumpkin Pie Crisp





December 27, 2023




If you are a pumpkin pie fan, you are going to love your first bite of this Pumpkin Pie Crisp! The base of this recipe is a creamy pumpkin pie filling, but instead of messing with a pie crust, you just add a streusel topping on top and bake it!

This Pumpkin Pie Crisp is an easy fall dessert made with a creamy pumpkin pie filling and a golden cinnamon streusel. It is served warm with ice cream!




This recipe is written by Jessica Segarra at thenovicechefblog.com






About Jessica Segarra

My name is Jessica Segarra and I’m a home cook from Texas who’s now thriving in her Florida kitchen. I grew up in a family that always cooked and rarely ate out. My wonderful mom had dinner on the table every day with a homemade dessert almost every weekend. Food is a passion and I’ve taken cooking classes both with local chefs at their restaurants, at Sur La Table, and even worked as a prep-line cook in my early 20’s. I also taught cooking classes in Tampa, Florida until I had my girls in 2014.

I’m a wife to Jorge, mama to twins Ellie & Lyla and my son Milo. My kids are my life and I love that all three of my kids share a love of cooking – and eating – with me.




COURSE: Dessert

CUISINE: American

PREP TIME: 15 MINUTES

COOK TIME: 40 MINUTES

AUTHOR: Jessica Sahara at thenovicechefblog.com




INGREDIENTS:


Pumpkin Pie Layer


Cinnamon Streusel



DIRECTIONS:


  • Preheat oven to 375°F. Butter a 12-inch cast iron skillet or a medium casserole dish. Set aside.



  • In a large bowl, whisk together pumpkin, sugar, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and vanilla extract. Whisk in heavy cream until smooth. Pour into prepared skillet and set aside.



  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Add melted butter and stir with a fork until crumbly. (Can also beat with a hand mixer until crumbly if needed.)




  • Spread cinnamon streusel topping on top of pumpkin pie mixture in an even layer.



  • Bake until filling is set and top is golden brown, 40 to 45 minutes.




  • Let cool for 10 minutes, then serve warm topped with Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream.


NOTES:


  • How to serve? This Pumpkin Crisp is best served warm with ice cream or whipped cream! I personally love it best with a scoop of ice cream on top like any other classic fruit crisp.

  • Can I add nuts? One option I didn’t include, but considered adding…Pecans! I went back and forth on this one a lot and decided to skip the nuts. However, if you are a big time pecan fan, they would be a wonderful addition to this Pumpkin Crisp recipe. I think they would be best mixed in with the streusel on top to add some extra crunch. Just make sure and do small chopped up pecans, not large pieces.

  • Can I make this ahead? Yes! Absolutely! I do it every thanksgiving! You can prep this Pumpkin Crisp ahead, but I highly recommenced baking it fresh when you are ready to serve it. To prep this recipe ahead, I follow all directions until the step where you pour the cinnamon streusel topping over the pumpkin pie layer. Instead, tightly cover the pumpkin pie layer in the baking pan and refrigerate it. Then place the streusel topping in a airtight container and refrigerate it as well. You can store these two like this for up to 48 hours.

  • Do I have to use a cast iron skillet? No! You can use any baking dish! I recommend either a large 12-inch round casserole dish or a 9×9 baking dish. If you are giving this away to friends/family, you can also bake it in an aluminum foil tin.

  • How To Store Leftovers: If you have any leftovers that is! We almost never do!! Store leftovers in the fridge for up to 5 days and reheat in the microwave for about 20 seconds, until warmed through again. You can also enjoy it cold!


NUTRITION:


SERVING: 1, CALORIES: 378kcal, CARBOHYDRATES: 28g, PROTEIN: 7g, FAT: 27g, SATURATED FAT: 16g, POLYUNSATURATED FAT: 9g, CHOLESTEROL: 138mg, SODIUM: 301mg, FIBER: 2g, SUGAR: 2g



How did you modify this recipe? Please share in the comments. Thank you for sharing!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page